Life, Parenting

Becoming A Parent

The one phrase I hate the most is ‘parenting will just come naturally’. For some it does, for some it doesn’t. Either way every parent is learning on the job. You could have planned every moment, envisioned every scenario, and read every book, but no amount of Supernanny episodes will prepare you for the reality of being solely responsible for the development of a new human.

There’s an element of parenting shaming attached to the ‘it comes naturally’ tribe as though you’re somehow biologically flawed if you struggle to raise your kid. Every parent who has had their children before you will automatically be more qualified, as will the people with two or three or four or more. No family is the same. No child is the same. Families and parenting skills are uniquely forged between the personalities of everyone involved in the experience. Sometimes, it’s a struggle.

Sometimes personalities clash. Mr Robinson and I are both introverts but our son appears to be extroverted. It’s a challenge! I was the kid that read the rules of the play park before I stepped foot inside, but my kid is likely to run right in without a second thought (and probably break numerous rules while he’s at it). We’re different, and so parenting for us means negotiating all the things we are as people, but also all the things we’re NOT.

Some days are frustrating. I’m slowly coming to the realisation that it’s ok for some days to be frustrating and it’s ok to have days where I don’t get everything right. There is only so many times a human being can tell a person not to pour their juice on the floor before you lose the plot and hide the juice cup.

Regardless, I’m a more experienced parent than I was yesterday and tomorrow I’ll be even further up that ladder. As I’ve said before, this is my first time being a parent to my one year old. Every stage is new for both of us. There’s no instruction manual.

Leave a comment