Uncategorized

What day is it?

I can’t be the only one who spends the vast majority of their time unsure of what day it is (and we won’t even discuss the date…). For those still in total lockdown, life is like a rendition of Groundhog Day. I’m bored. My entire family is bored. I am equipped for isolation – I’m just not equipped for isolation with the addition of other people.

For one, toddlers have no sense of social decency. My kid is getting up at 6am, singing nursery rhymes with his foghorn voice, smearing oreo cream over the sofa, and headbutting me in the stomach. I love him dearly but we have entered the terrible twos early.

If I’m to believe my social media feeds, everyone I know has taken to baking, gardening, and crafts. This is all commendable (and quite creative!), but I can’t relate. Honestly I find it difficult to find even a slither of motivation to do anything productive. That is, if you don’t include my extensive island renovations on Animal Crossing and my growing pile of read books on GoodReads.

I’m struggling to stay busy. I’ve never ate so much apple pie in my life – someone will have to roll me out of the house like a barrel by the end of all this. I can’t stop eating. It’s ridiculous. However, the summer is beginning and we’re lucky enough to have a garden so perhaps I’ll get some writing down.

Leave a comment